Everything Las Vegas

Go Back   Everything Las Vegas > Questions About This Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2009, 10:30 PM
Lori R's Avatar
Lori R Lori R is offline
High Roller
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego, Calif.
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to Lori R Send a message via Yahoo to Lori R
Default Websense

Steve/Hunter,

For as long as I have been a member, I have never had a problem going to the website from my computer at work. Tonight, I tried to log in and I got Websense message that ELV was a malicious site and it would not give me access. I've never seen that before for any site, and, believe me, Websense stops me from doing a lot of different things. I checked some other sites powered by VBulletin and I was able to get on fine so I don't think it has anything to do with that. I thought you should know about this.

Lori
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, margarita in the other, body thoroughly used, totally worn out and screaming ~ WOO HOO what a ride!

http://www.facebook.com/loridee
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2009, 02:59 AM
jr7110 jr7110 is offline
High Roller
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lori R View Post
Steve/Hunter,

For as long as I have been a member, I have never had a problem going to the website from my computer at work. Tonight, I tried to log in and I got Websense message that ELV was a malicious site and it would not give me access. I've never seen that before for any site, and, believe me, Websense stops me from doing a lot of different things. I checked some other sites powered by VBulletin and I was able to get on fine so I don't think it has anything to do with that. I thought you should know about this.

Lori
Actually, the EXACT same thing has been happening to me for the last two days - I had to type in the full address including the "forums" part and then repeatedly enter it into my browser until it finally connected. But it was coming up as a malicious site for me too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2009, 03:00 AM
Steve's Avatar
Steve Steve is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 4,570
Default

Could have just been a glitch. There is a lot of funny stuff going on with the Internet the past few days. I know a lot of people have had their email addresses hacked as I have been getting emails from people that claim to have never sent them.

I have never had any problems.

I sent a note to Hunter so he will look into it.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2009, 06:59 AM
jr7110 jr7110 is offline
High Roller
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Could have just been a glitch. There is a lot of funny stuff going on with the Internet the past few days. I know a lot of people have had their email addresses hacked as I have been getting emails from people that claim to have never sent them.

I have never had any problems.

I sent a note to Hunter so he will look into it.

Steve
I don't think it is a glitch - it just happened again....
it is definitely not an email issue so it is not connected to the email hacking that your friends have experienced...but it is very strange!

Last edited by jr7110; 10-30-2009 at 07:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2009, 08:52 AM
hunter's Avatar
hunter hunter is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 140
Default

Yeah, I believe I see what's going on.

I'll get into it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2009, 09:02 AM
Lori R's Avatar
Lori R Lori R is offline
High Roller
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego, Calif.
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to Lori R Send a message via Yahoo to Lori R
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jr7110 View Post
Actually, the EXACT same thing has been happening to me for the last two days - I had to type in the full address including the "forums" part and then repeatedly enter it into my browser until it finally connected. But it was coming up as a malicious site for me too.
I couldn't even get in that way, JR. I tried every workaround I could think of.
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, margarita in the other, body thoroughly used, totally worn out and screaming ~ WOO HOO what a ride!

http://www.facebook.com/loridee
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2009, 11:40 AM
Steve's Avatar
Steve Steve is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 4,570
Default Explanation

Here is what Hunter has found out. We should be OK soon.

The blog part of the site was hacked by someone that exploited a WordPress bug to insert invisible advertising keywords.

The WordPress software has now been upgraded and the security hole has been closed. Also, the invisible advertising keywords have been removed.

No data was lost - the hack was actually very unsophisticated, though it did trigger the spyware alerts that some users saw. Google should drop that notification soon as it rescans the site and sees that it has been cleaned up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2009, 11:49 AM
Lori R's Avatar
Lori R Lori R is offline
High Roller
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego, Calif.
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to Lori R Send a message via Yahoo to Lori R
Default

Outstanding!!! Thank you Steve and Hunter! I was going through severe ELV withdrawls last night and was absolutely panic stricken about what I would do all day at work on Saturday and Sunday (phones are ominously slow these days).
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, margarita in the other, body thoroughly used, totally worn out and screaming ~ WOO HOO what a ride!

http://www.facebook.com/loridee
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2009, 04:50 PM
ASTIDIXIE ASTIDIXIE is offline
High Roller
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: HALIFAX, MA
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to ASTIDIXIE
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lori R View Post
Steve/Hunter,

For as long as I have been a member, I have never had a problem going to the website from my computer at work. Tonight, I tried to log in and I got Websense message that ELV was a malicious site and it would not give me access. I've never seen that before for any site, and, believe me, Websense stops me from doing a lot of different things. I checked some other sites powered by VBulletin and I was able to get on fine so I don't think it has anything to do with that. I thought you should know about this.

Lori
Too funny.....someone, probably your dept head or your network adm put the site on the blocked list.
They obviously know where you have been and want to stop it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-30-2009, 08:57 PM
Lori R's Avatar
Lori R Lori R is offline
High Roller
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego, Calif.
Posts: 3,629
Send a message via AIM to Lori R Send a message via Yahoo to Lori R
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASTIDIXIE View Post
Too funny.....someone, probably your dept head or your network adm put the site on the blocked list.
They obviously know where you have been and want to stop it.
Fortunately, they did not. They know better and they do not have access to that. Our Executive VP exclusively handles the Websense. He and I go waaaaay back and he likes me (I write funny shift reports--that's his reading material every Sunday night) so I know he'd open it back up for me, if it had been purposely blocked. Just waiting for Hunter's fix to take. Thus far, I am still blocked.
__________________
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, margarita in the other, body thoroughly used, totally worn out and screaming ~ WOO HOO what a ride!

http://www.facebook.com/loridee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright MRVEGAS98